Are you a fan of the classic mystery and detective fiction of the late Dame P.D. James? If you are, then you’re in luck! This comprehensive guide will help get you started on reading all of her books in order. From her first novel Cover Her Face in 1962, to The Private Patient in 2008, this guide will show you how to order each and every one of P.D. James’ novels and short story collections chronologically and by series.

Novels and Short Story Collections
P.D. James wrote a total of twenty-one novels and two short story collections throughout her career, which spanned over fifty years. Her most famous series is the Adam Dalgliesh mysteries, which follows the exploits of Detective Chief Inspector Adam Dalgliesh as he investigates various crimes across England - from murders at a stately home on the coast of Dorset, to art thefts in London galleries! To read these books in order, start with Cover Her Face (1962), followed by A Mind to Murder (1963), Unnatural Causes (1967), Shroud for a Nightingale (1971), An Unsuitable Job for a Woman (1972), The Black Tower (1975), Death of an Expert Witness (1977), Devices and Desires (1989), Original Sin (1994), A Certain Justice (1997) and The Private Patient (2008).

In addition to her novels, P.D. James also wrote two short story collections - Time to Be In Earnest (1999) and The Mistletoe Murder & Other Stories (2016). Both collections feature stories that involve detectives investigating various crimes; while some stories are standalone works featuring new characters, many stories involve familiar characters such as Adam Dalgliesh or Cordelia Gray!

Non-Fiction Works
P.D. James was not only a gifted novelist but also an accomplished non-fiction writer as well; she wrote several books about her craft as well as biographies about other authors such as Jane Austen and Charles Dickens! To read all of these non-fiction works by P.D., start with Talking About Detective Fiction (2009). This book is an exploration into the history of detective fiction from its beginnings up until modern times - perfect for any reader who wants to learn more about this genre! After that, check out Time To Be In Earnest: A Fragment Of Autobiography(1999) which is an autobiographical work exploring P.D.'s life experiences up until 1999 when she finished writing it! Finally, if you want to learn more about other authors such as Jane Austen or Charles Dickens then make sure to check out Death Comes To Pemberley(2011) or Dickens And Women(1985)!

Whether you're looking for mysteries set in Gothic manor houses or biographical works exploring the life stories of famous authors like Jane Austen or Charles Dickens - there's something for everyone among Dame P D James' body of work! Use this guide as your starting point for ordering all 21 novels and 2 short story collections written by P D James - plus 3 non-fiction books that explore everything from detective fiction to biographical accounts about other writers! So what are you waiting for? Get started today on discovering the wonderful world of literature created by one of Britain's greatest authors ever - Dame Phyllis Dorothy James!

If you're looking for some reading material to get lost in, you've come to the right place. It's no secret that P.D James is one of the most successful authors of our time and books like Death Comes to Pemberley and The Children of Men have enchanted readers year after year. We’ve got a treat for every book lover out there: click the link to view our best picks for P.D James' books that are sure to take your reading experience to heights undreamt of!

Whether it's murder mysteries or scandalous tales you want, this list has something special just for you. Take action now and discover which book will be your next partner-in-crime!